Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 A really silly but basic question ? 
    Yeah, as you may be aware, I am new to motorcycles, and my efforts with my project before hitting the road, is take the thing apart and see how it is all put together and works, a method I use to understand machinery, and how I self taught my past plant fitter trade.

So, I have what I understand might be a silly question, but, it is one I just have to ask as I need to know and am too impatient to find out as that area of the bike to study is programmed for later, if I go there now, I will forget what has to be done first. I am kind of methodical like that, in whatever I do, I programme order of operations, and stick to it, any deviation, and I completely loose track of what has been done, and needs to be done. I also beat around the bush a lot when I write too, to that you have my apologies.

Anyway, the silly question is ; Is the gearbox seperate from the engine, regarding the lubrication fluids, are there seperate oils, one for engine and one for gearbox, or do both systems share the same oil ?

Oh Yeah, the bike is the Pulse Adrenaline 125 cc (XF125GY)
    Last edited by Sprocket; 01-20-2010 at 03:01 AM. Reason: Duh

2. #2 Re: A really silly but basic question ? 
    The oil in the gear box is shared throughout the engine. This is one reason motorcycles require better oil than cars, the clutch is pretty hard on the oil. Have fun taking things apart, it's a great way to learn.

Cheers!
    ChinaV

3. #3 Re: A really silly but basic question ? 
    Thankyou, I did suspect, but I needed affirmation on this issue from experienced people.

My next question would be the question of what oil to use, Sae 10W40 and a litre of I know, but is there any advantage with the semi synthetic or fully synthetic oils for this size of machine?

Also what oil would people here recommend, Silkolene, Morris whatever ?