Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Ni hao from Zhoushan! 
    For a bit more than two months now I've been living in China and will probably spend here a year. Originally from Kiev, Ukraine.
    Though I'm not much of a motorcycle rider yet I really hope I'll become one soon but despite not having a bike I have 4 years of experience riding 50cc scooters. I know how that may sound, but hey, it has 2 wheels and an engine. Did some trips around Ukraine and the latest one was last summer for around 2500km. There's actually a short video here:

However I'm not sure how many of you will be able to watch it as I guess most of users here are in China.

Ok, so the main reason I'm here is that I'm thinking of buying a motorcycle somewhere in the next few months, that depends on when I'll get the license issues solved and enough money saved. But I'll be buying a bike not for just riding around the island while I'm living here. My plan is to make it all the way home next year. Some say that I'm starting to plan way to early, but since my experience is limited and my budget is going to be really tight I think it's just about the time to start.

As I just started thinking I don't have any exact plans. But the whole trip would be somewhere between 3 and 6 months depending on the budget and the route I'll choose. So far I'm considering of buying either a Suzuki gn125 or Yamaha YBR125. Some of you may say they are not powerful or fast enough so I'm open to suggestions however as long as they stay 125-150cc.

Oh, and if there's by any chance someone close to the place I live who would be also glad to meet fellow laowai - let me know as I don't get much communication here and the level of locals' English apart from "Hello!" is very-very poor, so I can't count on them.

Thanks for your attention,
    Alex
    Last edited by cj_zhoushan; 04-20-2010 at 12:04 PM.

2. #2 Re: Ni hao from Zhoushan! 
    foreign China moto dude bikerdoc's Avatar