Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Kinlon Electrical Problem 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi All,

I been have just purchased my first motorbike a brand new Kinlon RT. Bike is as good as assembled, i have charged the battery but it blows a fuse every time i connect the battery. I have check all of the wirring that i have connected and it seems fine. Any suggestions from anyone that may have experienced similar problems. I am new to this so i have no idea.

2. #2 Re: Kinlon Electrical Problem 
    Sorry to hear that mate. If you haven't done something dumb, which we all do sometime, it has to be a major short somewhere. Are the battery leads touching the frame when you push the seat down or similar perhaps? My seat was installed wrongly. Don't know what to suggest really, look closely for a rubbing wire, bad insulation etc. Does it blow with the ignition off and no key in?

Sniff closely around the wiring loom, you may just smell a bad spot. Check the switches and indicators where the wires go through the frame etc. and isolate as many things as you can one by one. Don't forget to check the switch under the footrest, that could have been broken, on mine it just stopped working but so far it hasn't affected anything. But such switches and wires are vulnerable to damage in transit, packing. My crate was wrecked by a forklift somewhere between China and here but I was very lucky nothing was hurt much.

You got it in a crate? Hopefully from a local dealer. Give them a call, it should be under warranty? They may admit to knowing of a fault or possible cause.

I hope someone else can help more, it is such a general fault it is difficult to know what to advise apart from send it back with all the bother that entails.

3. #3 Re: Kinlon Electrical Problem 
    C-Moto Noob
    Thanks for the reply Jape.