Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Thread: GPS Buying Tips

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 GPS Buying Tips 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob Just Charlie's Avatar
    I'm in the market for a GPS and have found a lot of options, but I'm not sure which one to decide on. I've narrowed it down to Garmin since everyone I've spoken to personally says that's the manufacturer to stick with. If you use a GPS, what kind do you have and which features are really useful for riding? Do you have yours wired to your bike or do you run it on batteries? Is vibration an issue?

I noticed that Garmin makes a few models specifically for motorcycle use, but they're large touch screen units meant to be used with gloves. That's cool but I'm thinking I might opt for something smaller and less expensive like a hand held unit that can also be used for camping or trekking. Thoughts?

I have just purchased a Garmin GPSMAP 60CSX and I am still learning how to use it.But From other Forums and speaking to people this is the one for me it can be mounted to the handle bar it has a micro SD card which I can load maps on to and up load as well you can get the City navigator maps(do not know about China city navigator)It can take a fair bit of abuse.Try this site for explanation of GPS
    http://www.gpstrailhead.com/
    You might want to look at Delorme they say they have better topo maps but Garmin have better street maps I do not know as i have never seen one.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Charlie View Post
    ... If you use a GPS, what kind do you have and which features are really useful for riding? Do you have yours wired to your bike or do you run it on batteries? Is vibration an issue? ...

I am using different kinds of GPS receivers or systems.