Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Taiyuan rider, 200c Shineray questions 
    C-Moto Senior
    Attachment 2999

Hey guys, nice to find a community like this with so many resources. It's been good to check out the posts and get an idea of what I could expect when I finally get myself a bike here in China.
    I've been in China for about three months. I'm 28 and I've been riding for about 11 years. My first (and only) bike is this one in the picture. A wonderful 1981 BMW R65/5 that I'm sorry to say I've left in Florida, where I'm from. I would really love to have it here in China but it's probably not really the ideal bike for a road trip here anyhow, though it is quite a trooper. This bike was a regular rider and really my only vehicle, year round, for about 7 or those 11 years I've been riding. There were always yearly or bi-yearly trips, usually up the east coast to North Carolina or further along if the season was warm enough. I've probably logged about 80k miles on that there bike, and it took it with ease most of the time. Of course I've dropped it several times but I've never been in a two vehicle accident, I think mainly due to being a very defensive driver. I've also never had an accident in any of my cars, having been driving the wheeled coffins since I was 15. I'm not too much of a mechanic but I've done all the work that's been done on the bike since I got it and this has included rebuilding the front end (someone backed into it, cant tell you how fond I am of whoever did that) and rebuilding the transmission, clutch and replacing other random parts and of course all the random maintenance for the various systems.