Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Thread: How cars see us

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 How cars see us 
    Senior C-Moto Guru
    This is supposed to be about motorcycle safety, a few tips to make yourself visible. But I was more impressed when explains how cagers see riders..

If I was a driver and never rode a bike before, I would see, or not see, riders the same way. Stop dissing other drivers, take responsibility first, try to see yourself from other people's perspective. An accident is an accident, better avoid it, and avoid near misses, rather than debating who's fault or getting all worked up and loose your temper about incidents. keep up the

Edit: forgot to include original youtube link..
    Last edited by slabo; 03-27-2011 at 06:28 PM.

2. #2 Re: How cars see us 
    Danger, Will Robinson! Lao Jia Hou's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by slabo View Post
    take responsibility first
    Right on! Thanks for the video. All safety videos are worthwhile, but I found this one quite good. I'm a little leary about his weaving technique to increase visibility, as you have to be ready to quickly steer around the unexpected (which you should be thinking MIGHT happen - it becomes second nature, after a while). And that brings me to the point of big-pig bikes - that massive beast might look cool with lots of chrome and a deep growling sound, but very few riders (if any) are able to nimbly maneuver such a bike around obstacles. Big pigs tend to drive into unexpected situations, rather than around them. Just yesterday, I watched a rider on a Harley Fat Boy turning left across a large intersection ... a car coming the other way turning right came into the biker's intended path ... it was obvious that the Harley rider couldn't maneuver quickly, but the car fortunately made a quick correction to avoid the certain accident.

CC posted in another thread that his #1 rule when riding in China is "I am invisible". So true! So damn true!