Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Hello from Poland 
    I wrote some posts already but I havn't introduced myself yet. Last week I got my driving license so I think it's a good time to do it. My name is Filip, I'm an architect from Poland, since 7 months in Beijing. My main goal after getting a job was the motorcycle license. I got my polish license shortly before comming to China so I really have no idea about motorcycles and I'll ask many questions.
    I'm into some more turistic-offroad motorcycles. Didn't think about buying a motorcycle until I saw photos from my friends trip Poland-China on Africa Twin '89. I was really interested in Long March when I saw it but now I think because of the C3 it wont be so easy. I would like to ask you for some sugestions for a motorbike. I'm 195cm tall so I would need something high.
    I'm very happy to see such a strong motorcycle community in China.
    Cheers

2. #2 Re: Hello from Poland 
    mostly Shanghai, sometimes northern California
    Dear Filip,

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on getting yourself legal so quickly. As you've probably read in these threads, it's a lot easier to convert a foreign motorcycle license into a chinese license than to start from scratch.

As for what bike to get, if you like the Africa Twin, unless you want to pay through the nose for a bimmer or ducati, there's really only one legal touring bike of that type in China, the Jialing JH600, which is a solid bike and relatively affordable and a blast to ride. Search through this forum and you'll find lots of JH600 info and adventures. Pay particular attention to the posts of Franki and Pfaelzer, but also Motokai, Lao Jia Huo, Milton, Texas Aggie, Barry and, if you are desperate, Euphonius. I think Barry is almost as tall as you.

Keep us posted about what you get, and don't hesitate to ask questions!

cheers
    jkp
    Shanghai
    2010 JH600 "Merkin Muffley" (in Shanghai)