Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Hard vs soft luggages for long trips 
    A call to the vastly experienced riders here !

For a long trip in China (2 months), and in general what are your thoughts about the best type of saddlebags, irrelevant of the volume ?
    For the YBR 250, some examples :
    Hard luggages with racks : http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=2044956300
    Or soft luggages without racks to support them (GDW types) : http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=7576252868

Being a complete noob about this (I only tested soft saddlebags, YDC company), what should I be careful about, what should I look for ?
    I'd go for the hard ones, because well, they seems solid and the racks help in case of a fall, but it's an uneducated guess for now, please help to make it an educated one !

2. #2 Re: Hard vs soft luggages for long trips 
    I covered some of the pros and cons of luggage in this post of my Galaxy thread.

I have seen both of the bag set ups you linked to on Taobao. Here is some food for thought.

The hard ones are made of brittle plastic and are really very small. You will see the same bags being used on lots of police bikes around China. They're pretty poorly made and mounted very high and wide. The price is good and might get you through a trip if you have a tight budget.

The soft luggage is pretty average quality, I wouldn't count on it to keep your stuff dry, but you could easily pack your stuff in some plastic bags. You can cary a lot more than the hard bags and they are balanced a lot better.

Are you going to ride 2 up or alone?

Cheers!
    ChinaV

3. #3 Re: Hard vs soft luggages for long trips 
    Thanks ChinaV !
    I'm going to ride 2-up, so the "middle part" of the GDW soft bags between the 2 bags could be a problem for the pillion (not really comfortable for a long trip), I already sent a PM to Milton to ask his detailed thoughts about those bags, as he used them for his last trip.