Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Zongshen Sierra200 riders? 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hey guys, First of all let me say Hello. I'm a newb to the site and wanted to pick a few brains. I've been looking at China Bike trying to decide if it's what I want to get. I also looked at the UM (Korean). I test drove a Zongshen Sierra 200 today and I must say that I was a little disapointed in the power. When I released the clutch I thought I had it in second or third gear...nope it was in first. A little more sluggish than I expected. I had a Honda XL125 that seemed to have more power. Nice looking bike and it looks well made. The welds, fit, and plastics all looked great. Any Sierra200 riders here? Anybody got reccomendations on something over the Zongshen Sirerra200?

Honorary C-Moto Guru
    Hi and welcome.

A direct equivalent would be the Qingqi QM200GY-BA or Qlink XF200. This is a well-made and reasonably well-finished super moto based on a Suzuki DR200 but with some better cycle parts, like the wavy disc, USD forks, etc.
    I'm finding mine very entertaining and fun to ride as well as reliable. The seat height was a little excessive for me, but slicing off nearly 3" of the seat foam cured that, but introduced the problem of bum fatigue after 30-40 km.

I'm also surprised by how little "plonk" or "grunt" there is from low revs. I would have expected a single cylinder 200cc four stroke, that is LOW geared as well, to pull a lot better than it does, and be well able to trickle along in 1st or 2nd with virtually no throttle. Perhaps it has a over-light flywheel or very little torque at low revs.

If you can, see and try one. Make no mistake, this is a quality, value for money product, that should help to bury the bad reputation that some Chinese products have.
    Last edited by forchetto; 08-13-2008 at 03:59 AM.
    Jincheng Monkey JC50Q-7
    Skyteam Dax replica ST110-6
    Zongshen ZS125-43
    Qingqi QM200GY-BA Super Motard