Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Thread: Break in oil

1. #1 Break in oil 
    C-Moto Regular
    Hey I seached for any forums for this but couldn't find any so sorry if this is a repost,
    I have a d250rtc motorcycle that I have been riding for 2 months, this is it:
    http://www.scooterdepot.us/250cc-str...les-p-744.html
    it is brand new right now at 490 miles, and as soon as I got it I changed the oil to 4t 10w-40 full synthetic oil. Now that was a mistake for breaking in an enginge I am assuming from the internets feedback, I should have instead gone to mineral oil for the first thousand miles everyone says, or atleast for the japanese bikes.

My question is would it be better to switch now to a mineral based oil until I fully break in the engine? Why can't I use synthetic if it is bad? And I have had no problems yet with the bike at all so to me atleast it seems like it has been operating fine.

Now on a little bit different topic, how do you guys break in engines? I have heard from a lot of people to drive aggressive for the first 600-1000 miles to fully seal the piston rings. Alot of high revving and engine breaking but only after the bike has been properly worn out. Any ideas on this?
    Here is the site that everyone redirects me to about this subject:
    http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

2. #2 Re: Break in oil 
    Look long enough on the net and you will find all kinds of conflicting information.

Don't sweat it. Your bike will be fine with the synthetic oil. Lots of new vehicles come with synthetic oil.

I always break in my vehicles according to the owner's manual taking it easy for the first 1k miles or so. Others break in hard with good results so I guess it doesn't matter.
    Vince
    2021 Ural cT
    2022 Dong Fang DF250RTG
    2021 Ice Bear 150cc scooter
    2020 Ice Bear 150cc Scooter

3. #3 Re: Break in oil