Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Brit in Cebu, Philippines 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob
    Hi there, I am a 53 year old 'Brit', married to a Filipina and living in Cebu, Philippines, for last 7 years.

I may be new to Chinese Motorcycles, but I started riding Motorcycles in 1971.

My first Motorcycle was a Honda C92 'Benly' 125cc twin, that I bought as non-runner for £20.

I stepped up to Norton Commando 'Roadster' 750cc twin, having briefly owned an Norton 'Julilee' 250cc twin, built from a box of bits.

Having sold this 'classic', I switched to a BMW R60/7 - with full touring fairing and 'Krauser' panniers. Sensible and very reliable, if a little boring?

Not needing a Motorcyle, as a means of transport any longer (company car for that), I sought a 'Classic' again, and found a 'Triumph Trident' T160, 750cc Triple, with just 1,600 miles on the Clock. I traded in my BMW R60/7 + £1,000.

I bought a 'Honda XR200R' Enduro, in Bahrain for fun riding in the desert. I also used it to get to work sometimes, as half the journey back then (1982-5) could be made across country!

Whilst working in Hong Kong, I did not ride a Motorbike (it has such an excellent transportation network, no real need for one)?

I only got to ride my T160 Trident on short visits to UK.

After I become redundant due to Telecom Recession in 2000, and after my divorpay for his University education (as I was out of work with no salary by that time, 2002).

We moved to Cebu in May 2001.

I did want to buy another bike, but did not get around to it for some time. It was when an American friend went back to USA, to spend time with his elderly parents, whilst there was still time. He wanted to sell his Loncin T200 'Terminator' as he was unlikely to be using it for several years.

This was not the style of bike I really wanted. As you can see, I never owbe or had eidden a 'Cruiser' style motorcycle before and I did not really get on with it.