Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Just ordered my new JH600 from the Jialing factory 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob
    Hi to the MCM JH600 crowd,

This is my first post here but I’ve been following your adventures, the Pfaelzer, euphonius and the other MCM stories. And so after months during which just thinking about it made me happy, two weeks ago, I finally transferred the money for a JH600A (red) to the Chongqing factory. I’m told it will be ready by mid April and I can’t wait.

About me: I’m a medical doctor by training but ended up co-founding a social marketing technology company in Shanghai, and I’ve had the usual love-hate relationship with China since 2006. I’ve been riding a YBR125 for a year now in Shanghai with a few weekend trips and it’s changed my life.

Now I’m looking at longer touring with my JH600, this is the first babysteps I plan to make and I’ll be grateful for any feedback and advice you guys have to offer:

1. I plan to order the tourfellas panniers set and an engine guard from the master builder Du Rui in Yongkang (based on what I read here, thanks) and ask him to ship those parts to the factory or a Jialing authorized workshop in Chongqing.

2. I’ll pick up the bike and break it in hard with non-synthetic oil (just to be contrarian, I'll follow the mototuneusa guy's advice) and do an oil change after the first 20 miles...

3. I’ll sign a rental contract for a room with a friend-of-a-friend to be identified somewhere in Chongqing who has a garage, go to the police station with the rental agreement to get my local residence registration paper, and get help from the workshop hopefully to obtain a Chongqing license plate for my bike (in the expectation that the process is similar to what was shared here in the thread on Kunming).