Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Just got my first bike. THa Heist 250cc. Need some recommendations. Thanks! 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi there,
    Im new to the cycle world and got my first retro starter bike. I would like to mod it up a bit but dont know where to begin and how. I know how to work on cars but not the cycle world.

1. Want to wrap the pipe and also chop it and heat spray it black. What do you guys use to chop the pipe? whats the process? Also, what does the wrapping do in general? Will this hurt the carburator after its done?

2. What process do you used to cut the fender in back, what tools do you use? Im not a fabricator but I assumed many people do this themselves. Any ideas or recommendations?

3. Changing handlebars to the flat bar look. Any things to watch out for?

Thanks guys. I will be searching the forums also.

R

2. #2 Re: Just got my first bike. THa Heist 250cc. Need some recommendations. Thanks! 
    Toobit, welcome to the MCM boards and the Tha Rider Nation
    Great bike, I have had mine or under a year and have over 11000 miles on it. Just completed a 3000 mile ound trip to Daytona FL from NJ last week on my lil pony, the tha Widow.
    This forum, and http://www.ccwthariders.com/ are great resources for mods on the Heist as well as the CCWtha Rider FB group with almost 200 members

there is a great write up about wrapping a pipe right here it will not hurt the carb but you will want to rejet if you make any changes to the exhaust

to do fender cuts I used blue painters tape and a sharpie to draw out the lines then a cutoff wheell to actually cut

I have daytona drags on my Widow no need to change the cables

Hope that helps if anything else pm me here or email me ccwtharider@optonline.net

~Gardo
    Gardo northern NJ/NYC
    CCW tha Heist tha Widow
    CCW tha Misfit (tha Wraith)
    50 State legal and Worldwide
    CCW Heist Riders