Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Absolute noob looking for a budget Chinese cruiser. Thinking of getting RR DD125E-5F. 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob
    That's the Regal Raptor DD125E-5F (link). I'm thinking of graduating from my unlicensed scooter by getting a license and buying a real motorcycle that I can take around Zhejiang and her nearby provinces.

If anyone here has any experience with it or with the brand, please drop a few lines! I've read some threads in here as well, and it seems the reception is kinda mixed.. And if ever I'm not getting this, are there other sub-10k yuan (limited undergrad student budget) cruisers around that I can get?

2. #2 Re: Absolute noob looking for a budget Chinese cruiser. Thinking of getting RR DD125E 
    Honestly! I'm just gonna say it: WHY a cruiser? Is it the image? The Jon Bon Jovi leather-tassle homo-erotic style that attracts you? Or is the the laid back comfortable style. Really cruisers only make sense in mid west America where there are no turns and it's 300 miles of straight Highway to the next service station and you think you are a rebel. For a Chinese city they suck, especially an underpowered one. If you want to ride a reliable motorcycle that suits urban and out of town riding for under 10K buy....

Sundiro Honda CBF150

2010-yamaha-ybr-125.jpg
    Jianshe Yamaha YBR125

Haojue Suzuki EN125

1996_GN125_black_480.jpg
    If you're desperate for a Cruiser, I think Wonjan Suzuki still make the GN125

I have a Regal Raptor, they are at best OK, if you are experienced and can keep on top of maintenace and repair they can serve you reasonably well, it's my 6th bike and 3rd in China. My previous bike was a Sundiro CBF150. The quality was waaaay better on that. If you intend on keeping the bike outside the Regal Raptor could be a disaster and will rot in front of your eyes. The Japanese made in China stuff whilst inferior to Japanese made bikes will have at least a fighting chance.