Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 New guy with engine I.D. question. 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hello friends, I am new to this form and I'd like to ask a few questions about the motor in my new sunny 300cc roadrunner reverse trike. I know it was sold as a 300cc trike but on the vin tag on the fairing it says that it is 278cc. Also it says on the tag that it is in the engine family BDGFC,278 M3W,can anyone tell me anything about this engine or who makes it????
    Also, the only thing stamped on the motor on the top are the number 170 with the letter C right underneath that, all four of those characters are in a flattened square aproximately 4 inches in diameter. If anyone can tel me something about this I'd be indebted to you, thank you. daddue-Steve.

2. #2 Re: New guy with engine I.D. question. 
    mostly Shanghai, sometimes northern California
    Dear daddue11,

Welcome to MCM and looking forward to your ongoing reviews and tales about this contraption, er, bike of yours. Folks I know with the Can-Am Spyder www.can-am.brp.com/ generally rave about the experience, and your bike obviously is aiming for a bit of that shine.

As for your questions, can you make pictures of the VIN plate and other markings? Was there no dealer involved in your purchase?

Cheers
    jkp
    Shanghai
    2010 JH600 "Merkin Muffley" (in Shanghai)
    2000 KLR650 "Feezer Ablanalp" (in California)

3. #3 Re: New guy with engine I.D. question. 
    euphonius is right, pics'd be helpful. Tried to baidu the numbers in the post with the 发动机 (engine) in various combinations. Baidu hasn't yielded any results that's remotely look like an engine, except for a car V-8 one...

4. #4 Re: New guy with engine I.D. question.