Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Difference between Inner-ring license plates and outer-ring license plate 
    Oy mates,

I'm planning to buy myself a 600/650 cc motorbike and was wondering about your views toward inner/outer ring license plates.
    To my understanding:
    - the Shanghai Inner ring licence plate is about 68000RMB, quantity: extremely limited.
    - the Shanghai Outer ring licence plate is about 8500 RMB, quantity: ulimited.

Facts: I've been driving a CB400 VTEC1 for 2 years in Shanghai, licence plate from Jiangsu, only got fined once and it was for not wearing a helmet (Yeah I know, but it was a 1km drive and I was driving around 20km/h)

Now it seems to me that the police doesn't care much about inner or outer ring plates as they don't even care if you're driving big bike with a Jiangsu plate in downtown. Plus, I got friends that have been riding with outer ones for years without having problems

Not even speaking of the price difference: 61500RMB, at 200rmb the fine, you would have to get fined 307 times before reaching a total cost of 68000rmb. Of course you can sell your inner license plate back, even with a bonus if we're looking at the market.

So, long story short I'm a bit skeptical about buying myself an inner ring one. The fact that you're losing points if you drive downtown is obviously a urban legend.
    I am looking forward to read you guys!

Cheers.

2. #2 Re: Difference between Inner-ring license plates and outer-ring license plate 
    Com'on Guys, no comments of the pros and cons of inner (A) and outer ring (C) license plate?

Who's drivng a bike with a Shanghai 沪C license plate in dontonwn Shanghai, and what's your experience about it?

Thanks.

3. #3 Re: Difference between Inner-ring license plates and outer-ring license plate