Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 18.000 km around China in 2 months 
    Hi. I'm planning a good bye China trip in May or at least good bye for some time. (900PM pollution? crazy and this winter... I can't take it any more) I've been here over 2 years and I didn't see anything, so I have a plan to see everything at once. I'm not very experienced rider so I hope for your advice about all: where to go, what to buy, how to prepare etc. I know there is a lot ride reports in MCM, I will try to read all of them, but it's a long ride and it will take ages to precise where to go. I've read about Carl Parkers trips. It will be very useful. The trip should be something like Beijing- Lop Nur - Urumqi-Kashgar-Yunnan (not Tibet) - Hainan Island - Guilin - Beijing.
    I'm working on my map, I just have some points so far. I hope to get more, maybe with your help and connect them in to final trip route.
    https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid...c0a8f2f2&msa=0
    It's in Polish.
    My longest trip so far was 1800km in 3 days. I'm not even sure if it's possible to spend 2 months on a motorcycle. I will quit my job, I have a visa until october or something, I have some money saved so it should be ok. I will try to find a sponsor, if I will maybe I will take it easy, make more stops and spend up to 6 months travelling. I would be happy to meet fellow MCM members on the way.

I'm most excited to go and check outh those:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/environmen...esert-patterns
    I wonder if this is part of illegal mapping that Fahni mentioned and if I can get in trouble for that.
    And there is Sattelite launch base on the way that is probably also closed to foreigners that I would also like to visit.
    My motorcycle is Jialing 150ccm :)
    Cheers
    Filip
    JH-150GY-3

2. #2 Re: 18.000 km around China in 2 months 
    Danger, Will Robinson! Lao Jia Hou's Avatar