Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Looking for a bike I can ride from Shanghai to Ho Chi Minh where I'll sell it. 
    C-Moto Noob
    I'm a novice. I've ridden a lot but never owned. I'm arriving in Shanghai next week and will be there for 4-5 days. If you don't have a bike to sell please let me know any advice on getting one and tips in general for the route, buying bike process, etc. Thank you.

2. #2 Re: Looking for a bike I can ride from Shanghai to Ho Chi Minh where I'll sell it. 
    foreign China moto dude bikerdoc's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bumpalru View Post
    I'm a novice. I've ridden a lot but never owned. I'm arriving in Shanghai next week and will be there for 4-5 days. If you don't have a bike to sell please let me know any advice on getting one and tips in general for the route, buying bike process, etc. Thank you.
    Aint going to happen legally at least. Sounds like you are leaving it to the last minute 'cause if you'd done due diligence you'd know that it will be near on impossible to get a bike legally plated in YOUR name with a 100% legally obtained drivers license with motorcycle endorsement in YOUR name as a tourist and in the time frame you have outlined. Not too mention the copies of documents and legal translations needed. You'll also be arriving when there is a long weekend holiday for the tomb sweeping festival so things will grind slowly to a halt, so getting things done expeditiously aint likely to happen either. Sure you can arrive, buy a bike (what type and capacity - good luck with that) plenty of dealers around that sell legit legal and otherwise. Dealers who will tell and promise anything you want to hear, but fail to fill in the blanks and deliver on what they asserted, and as for crossing the border, well you will have hurdles there too, but on a Chinese manufactured bike then likely less so.