Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Hi from Toronto, soon to be Kunshan 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi all!

I'm a Canadian who is about to move to Kunshan in the coming months. I've been riding for almost five years now. I started on a Hyosung 250 when I lived in Korea and moved up to a BMW F800R when back in Canada.

I'm looking forward to moving to China but am a bit worried about motorcycling options there. Big engine imported bikes are basically out of the question due to import tax reasons. And I'm worried about the quality of Chinese bikes.

I've got lots of questions and have been searching through the forums and other sites for information. Is there an FAQ located somewhere that goes into detail about the details and costs related to legally motorcycling in China?

Are there any other big bike riders who moved to something smaller when moving to China?

I look forward to interacting and contributing to the community here!

2. #2 Re: Hi from Toronto, soon to be Kunshan 
    Hello and welcome!

Please, don't be worried because no one has response all day. I responsibly claim that the reason for this is not that you're Canadian.
    Ask me nothing - I DO NOT speak english. Really...

3. #3 Re: Hi from Toronto, soon to be Kunshan 
    mostly Shanghai, sometimes northern California
    Dear Jonpurdy,

Greetings and welcome to mychinamoto and greater Shanghai. The search window up in the corner sucks, but Advanced Search just below it works wonders. Trying searching for "Getting Legal" and other search terms that are of interest to you and you'll find a ton of answers in these forums. There's some very good threads about all aspects of motorcycling in urban and rural China. Not sure the rules for Kunshan, but hopefully you'll get really lucky and not only will motorcycling not be banned there yet but the city will offer bike plates for a fraction of what they cost here in Shanghai (over 100k rmb right now).