Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Help with oil change. 
    C-Moto Noob
    I've changed oil on my truck and 4wheeler before but I'm new to oil changes on motorcycles. My bike is an 08 XP200 thats under the initial break-in period. I changed the oil yesterday after a ride into town and filled it up to the F mark with the bike standing upright, not on its side stand. I just got back from a short ride to add miles and checked the oil to find that it was above the F mark when the bike was upright. Did I do anything wrong? Is the bike supposed to stay on its side stand while you add oil? I did not change oil element. I checked the oil right after the ride so the engine was still hot.

2. #2 Re: Help with oil change. 
    I have the same bike I use a measuring cup clear one liter and drain it all out, if you get over 800-50 ml you overfilled it, its not good to overfill it could push past the rings and make it loose compression. You need to see the oil in the site glass. I have the same bike I measure it each time that way and I think it is 800-850 I get out, but I also lean it and hold it till nothing comes out. Then put the same amount back plus a bit for what is in the filter.

3. #3 Re: Help with oil change. 
    C-Moto Noob
    Thanks MJH! I let out the oil till it was back on the F mark so I think I'm good now. I'll get a measuring cup and dedicate it to measuring my oil when I change it next time. I drove it 20km then noticed the oil so probably no damage done. My first moto so I want it to last.

4. #4 Re: Help with oil change. 
    Oil: 850ml | Oil + filter: 950ml | Overhaul: 1300ml

5. #5 Re: Help with oil change. 
    Senior C-Moto Guru
    how about this.