Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Getting (il-)legal in Tianjin 天津 
    C-Moto Regular
    welcome.jpg
    Welcome to Tianjin! No bikes allowed.

I've been living here in Tianjin for 4 years now, trying to figure out WTF is going on regarding bikes 3, and actually riding one for 2. I'm far from an expert but I've done some leg work so I thought I'd share it here. Anything that is a FACT* I will state as such, anything that I've heard I'll make sure you know, anything I think, well you get the idea...

*this is China, facts can change...

Please remember that Tianjin is both a province AND a city - much like Beijing. I am talking about Tianjin province mostly or I will refer to "Tianjin City".

Fact: Tianjin city is a no-bike city (see photo above...) anything inside the outer-ring road (外环线) but NOT including the outer-ring road itself is a no-bike area. In addition some highways and expressways are explicitly "no-bike" as well.

Fact: Tianjin province can ride legally registered and plated motorcycles, no problem ;)

Fact: If your residence permit is inside the ring road you cannot register a Tianjin province motorcycle in your name or get a license plate for it.

----

Ok, rumor has it that before 2007 there were bikes all over the city. This apparently pissed off the audi owners or something. There used to be a lot of horses and donkeys too - which is why you'll also see "no motorcycles or horses" signs elsewhere on the ring road... Thus the city-wide ban. This is why you'll also see occasionally an extremely old Honda, Suzuki, Jialing, chained to a building with a 津A, 津B, or 津C plate. I don't know what plates they issue now, I've literally never seen a "new" Tianjin bike or plate.