Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Quick introduction 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi everyone,

I'm the new kid on the block. Living in Shanghai, I still have to figure out how and which bike to ride here.

Before coming here I had to sell my beloved bikes that I miss dearly. They were
    • 1998 Suzuki GSX 750 AE (my tourer for longer trips in the Alps and central Europe)
    • 1986 BMW R80 RT (cruiser for the black forest and Vosges mountains)
    • 1978 Honda XL250S (inner city fun)

Currently im studying to get my Chinese drivers license since China does not accept my international one.
    Once I get this done I'm looking for a light, affordable, and fun ride for Shanghai city.

Cheers,
    Stefan

2. #2 Re: Quick introduction 
    foreign China moto dude bikerdoc's Avatar
    Hi Stefan,
    Welcome/welkome aboard the MCM lunatic asylum, as we're all crAzIes in 'ere...

Not sure if you have seen the Getting a PRC drivers licence thread yet by ZMC888 et al.?

Getting-a-Chinese-Motorcycle-License

Worth your time and effort to explore some of the sticky's in the Ride Prep area of MCM

Ride-Prep-and-Making-Tracks

3. #3 Re: Quick introduction 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi doc,

Thanks for your advice. I haven't done much research on how to obtain my drivers license since I'm working for a Chinese car company and they are helping me with that. I learned that only have to take the written exam of 100 questions. If I pass I get the license. I was assuming that would be true for both car and bike since I have both from my home country. Is that wrong?

4. #4 Re: Quick introduction 
    foreign China moto dude bikerdoc's Avatar
    I see. You need to explicitly make it clear when you have your home country/original overseas licence translated that you want to apply for a motorcycle and car, as most translation offices will automatically assume car.

C1= car
    C1E = car and 2 wheeled motorcycle (2 wheeled motorcycles only excluding 3 wheels)