Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Hello and seeking advice on a town to live. 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob
    Hi folks,

I've been reading for a while and thought I'd say hello. I'm an Aussie male, early 40s, currently living and teaching English in Zhejiang, Taizhou.
    Obligatory picture of my Mighty Steed: http://imgur.com/1F94PCK With added bling just to be outrageous :-D http://imgur.com/oQZAfzC I'd like to upgrade but I'm still studying for my licence.

Anyway, so in a few months I'll have finished my second year in this job. I'm looking for a new gig and optionally a new town. Taizhou is bike-friendly and it's a small town of only 6 million so it's pretty safe and relaxed. I was hoping to draw on the great wisdom of the forums for some suggestions for where I might move to, if I do. I found the big list of towns where bikes are not permitted, but as they say, China's a big country! I'm sure there are thousands of suitable towns and I wouldn't know where to start.

Do you live/work in a similarly sized town where bikes are permitted? What's the weather like? Are there nice places to ride around? How's the (expat) biker community? Do you know a school in the area that's looking for an English teacher?

Cheers,
    BMIC

2. #2 Re: Hello and seeking advice on a town to live. 
    hey bmic and welcome
    the best places to ride are really out west , but the economic development lags behind a bit there.
    small cities rule as you know but lower pay there for the teaching of the mother tongue
    no simple answer to your question

3. #3 Re: Hello and seeking advice on a town to live. 
    Tough question...
    In my view you have to balance cost of living, legality, earning potential, employment opportunities, air quality, weather and road quality (physical quality of safety and smoothness lack of pot holes and other debris) and style (fun to ride on eg mountain road or racetrack).

Where I live...

-Cost of living: