Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 HELP! WITH CHINESE MOTORBIKE TRAVEL 
    C-Moto Noob
    HEY!

I am a student in NIngbo, and I have my summer comming up.. What ive really wanted since I got from my home country (Chile) to here, is to ride a motorbike in inner China for about 3 and a half months.

But since I got here everyboy has told me its illegal to buy a motrobike at least in the northern cities.

So the question is:

Where can I buy a cheap chinese made motorcycle (i want to spend no more than 350 US), I dont rally care if it is used. and How stupid would it be to drive around China without a chinese drivers license, only my chilean drivings License?

Any help is really Useful!!

2. #2 Re: HELP! WITH CHINESE MOTORBIKE TRAVEL 
    Hi! I've been riding in China for about 12 years now I'll try to help answer your questions in an honest way.

First off you can buy a 5 year old 125cc Chinese motorcycle for around the money you have, but if your budget is so small are you sure you have enough money for food, hotels and fuel? If I were you I'd try to get a Chinese driving license, all the information is stickied under 'ride prep and making tracks' if you have a certain amount of time left on your visa you can transfer it. If you can't get a Chinese license at least make sure the bike is registered and insured, and keep out of the bigger cities.

Riding around China without a Chinese driving license could see you lose your bike and end up in a detention center for two weeks at the first intersection (Ningbo is about the last place I'd ever try to ride illegally), or you could ride the whole time with absolutely no problem and cover thousands of kilometers. That is down to luck and also a portion of good judgement, however staying in country areas and smaller cities is usually safer.

I also wouldn't listen to what Chinese (Han) people tell you about the law, they dress up their opinion as fact when it's not.