Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Been eyeing a bike for a while. Newbie Qs 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hi Everyone

I've been riding a moped for about 2 years in China but it's gone now. Wanna get a motorcycle. How easy is the transition? The only experience I have on a motorcycle was when I was 18 I think. 800c and shorts, leg was burned pretty badly. Don't really wanna repeat that but I'm a bit smarter now ;P

I recently moved and don't really like taking the bus which is why I'd like a motorcycle as well. The places I'd frequent are all about 30-40km away, and so which size engine would be ideal? I'm 5'7". Is there any shame in riding a 125/150 instead of a 250 (which most expats seem to consider as starter bikes)?

I don't know if I'll be in China for more than 8 months but I'm always telling myself this is my last year. Ideally I'd like to buy something used or have something I could resell at a high value so that I don't lose too much of my investment. Any recommendations? Used buying good or bad to do here? I've never really bought a vehicle let alone a used one. Though the dudes at the bike market said that there are hardly any used bikes under 250cc.

I think I've heard that Regal Raptor mentioned here and I liked the way their bikes look. Probably don't want something too sport, rather be comfortable especially if I'm riding further/more. How about those bikes I see on taobao though? The ones that are like 3000-7000k? 1/2 to 1/3 the price of a branded bike. I also saw them at the motorcycle market. Are they something to stay away from or would it be ok to learn how to ride on them?

Any good Chinese branded riding EQ (boots, jacket, helmet) you can recommend on taobao? Maybe also saddle bags or something? That way I can keep my sportcoat/suit jacket with me and a pair of dress shoes for the days I wanna look a little nicer. Also what would be a good passenger helmet? My friends head size all differ quite a bit haha.