Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Best beginner motorcycle for absolute noob and short rider ! 
    C-Moto Noob
    Hello !

Really need help here !!!
    Ok so I have wanted to get my own bike for quite some time now. But there's a lot of "big" problems I've to face :
    - I'm absolute noob, I only used to ride 90CC and 150 scooters, and once a 150CC chinese chopper bike......
    - I'm only 5' and 90 lbs
    - I live in Guangzhou so I would ride only on weekends, in small cities and towns. But I also plan to make some road trips to Thailand or Vietnam, etc. once a year. (will join riding club for sure).
    - and the worst, I don't have a driving license from my home country....I'm willing to take driving classes if there's any driving school in Guangzhou ?

- I want a small, reliable, lighweight, nimble, durable motorcycle but still cheap and easy to maintain though.
    - with upright driving position, comfortable after hours of riding
    - Japanese motorbikes preferred (affordable and cheap spare parts)
    - I'm neither into racing nor into show-off motorcycles. But a small motorbike that I can be proud to ride. I just want to have fun riding (no boring bikes) and enjoy the landscapes (road trips).

Please don't tell me to just get a scooter or an eletric bike or a Chinese 125-250CC (I want a bike who is reliable and durable).

But except from those 2 options, are there any others ? I made some research and found out :
    - Kawasaki ninja 300 ABS (but the official chinese dealers in Foshan/Jiangmen don't have it),
    - KTM Duke 390 (ABS)
    - Honda CBR300R,
    - Kawasaki Vulcan S,
    - Suzuki (I can't see any 250CC/300CC model in their chinese website)
    (I want to register it and there are only a few dealers in Guangdong province who are willing to help a foreigner for the registration process, so my choices are very limited as well).