Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
  1. #1 What’s better for me than YBR250/YS250? 
    Like the titles says... What’s better for me than YBR250/YS250?

I am a novice rider, but have logged lots of track time in fast cars ranging from sport compacts to exotics. Good handling, braking, and high power to weight are important me. Honestly, the YBR250/YS250 appears weak in this regard.

Bike must be reliable. I am good with a wrench, but I don’t want a bike that presupposes that fact. Wrenching should be limited to maintenance, adjustment, and upgrades, not major repair.

I want to buy enough bike and buy once. I hate selling and horse trading. Regarding resale I would likely dispose of it after five years, might keep it, not sure.

I’d like to spend less than 20k RMB, I can easily spend 30k. You could talk me up 50k, but the bike would have really be something special across all my use cases to drop that kind of coin. I lean towards the value end of the spectrum.

My day-to-day riding will be 95% tarmac, a significant portion of which is in atrocious condition. The bike also needs to get me up the occasional interesting dirt path.

I definitely want to ride down through Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, etc. (hopefully with some of you hooligans) I’d also like to tour two-up in the mountains out west Yunnan, Sichuan, Xinjiang, maybe a trek to Everest base camp.

I am 182cm (82 cm inseam) 85kg. Two-up touring would include a compact 60kg pillion plus bags.

What’s your opinion of the bikes below vs my needs? What other bikes I should consider?

KTM Duke 390 49,800 RMB India [mfd], China [assemb]
    Kawasaki Z300 40,900 RMB (Z250 ABS) Thailand
    Honda CB300F 34,980 RMB (CBR300R) Thailand
    Suzuki GW250 23,880 – 25,880 RMB China, Haojue JV
    Yamaha YS250 19,800 RMB China, Jianshe JV
    Honda CBF190 14,800 RMB China, Sundiro JV