Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Newbie from Ohio,USA 
    The last couple of years I have been wanting to see China. I want to travel by motorcycle for a couple months. But people told me it was too difficult to get a license. I almost gave up. Then I read some threads on this forum. Mostly encouraging. And one that added a new concern. "To apply for a (E) motorbike DL you must be under 60 years of age and at the age of 70 you can no longer ride a motorbike, every year after 60 years you need to obtain a new medical exam." I am 67 years old. I've been riding for 50 years. Does this mean I can't get a license in China?

2. #2 Re: Newbie from Ohio,USA 
    Just from reading the threads on here the past 8 or 9 years, it used to be extremely easy for foreigners to ride China back then. It seemed, all you had to do was find a Chinese citizen, put a bike in his/her name, and ride off! Of course, just like growing up in California in the 1980's, the freedoms one had, seemed to go bye-bye year after year. There are tours and what not, and many ex-pats from Europe and N. America do ride, so hopefully they will chime in with details.

3. #3 Re: Newbie from Ohio,USA 
    Doogle, yes the legality is true, at 70 your China motorcycling days are supposed to be over and new licenses won't be issued after 60. However these laws change all the time. When a sizeable number of people get to 60 and want to keep riding critical mass will change the age limit upwards, this just happened, in fact with cars. You could try riding on an international license and claim ignorance or try finding some organisation that could help you get a temporary license. A temporary car license would be better than nothing.