Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Dual-sport bike for a short guy? 
    C-Moto Not-so-Noob
    Hi,

I'm new to the motorcycle scene; planning to buy by first bike. I would like the off-road capabilities of a dual-sport (to deal with rough roads and to go camping), but I'm wondering if a short guy like me - 164 cm, or 5'4.5" - can comfortably/safely ride a dual-sport, given the seat heights (which, I gather, are around 36 inches).

Can short guys ride dual-sports? Are there dual-sports built for short guys?

Or, how would a street bike fare on China's rough roads, and off-road? I hear that in rural areas, farmers take street bikes everywhere, including off-road.

Thanks

Dan

Hi Dan, while I'm no expert on the china enduro bikes, I can tell you the Zongshen (sp?) is shorter than my Hanma 200GY" by quite a bit. I think the rear suspension can also be setup to lower the bike. The Hanma/SLD/MDL "Tomoto" type bikes are pretty darned tall, but there are quite a few lower. Also, the saddles tend to be hard and darned thick, so a shorter enduro type with a different seat might be just what you're looking for.

I'm sure the guys with more experience with these bikes will jump in here with some brand suggestions and good luck with whatever you end up buying. I like mine a lot :)

Seer