Adventure Motorcycle Magazine Subscribe Now

1. #1 Metzeler Motorcycle tires 
    d243d79d3190b778885f3e0f2ae12e9.jpgc9c97b11dd5c9132c985c3a4c557a63.jpgMetz1.jpgMetz2.jpgI hate to admit this but I've been riding motorcycles for over 45 years.. Far out, where did all the time go? I woke up one morning and was wrinkly. As you get older life becomes more important and I'm writing this post as I have reason to warn you that Metzeler Z rated tyres are potential killers. I bought my MT650 just over a year ago and apart from the oft quoted teething problems with this bike, it never felt that it handled that well.. The frame and construction was stiff and weight was good, so by the process of deduction I assumed it was the tyres. But these were METZELERS. Should be no problem there. So after 1500km at a junction the rear tyre went POP and instantly it was flat.. The tyre had a long split in it and was a write off.. I assumed (as you tend to in China) that a lump of steel had done this. So I bought another METZELER and was off again. About 1500Km on the new tire, another split and I was thinking "perhaps there is an issue with the tyre) I managed to keep this tyre going despite two other splits and the penny dropped.. The METZELER Tyre had a construction problem. So I replaced it with a Pirelli and decided to chop the old one up to see what the problem is.
    Basically the METZELER tyre is a piece of crap. I have written an in depth report about this and my email is jonsims@ksmetals.net. If you want a copy I am happy to send you.
    I have tried to contact METZELER about this issue and they are not interested. I also discovered that it appears there are no standards which motorcycle tyre manufacturers have to conform with other than putting the markings on their tyres according to the standards.